

VOLUME 2. ISSUE III. JUNE 2014

From the MD & CEO's desk

Dear Readers

This issue of NPCI eNewsletter is focused on the historic event of 'RuPay Dedication to the Nation' at the Rashtrapati Bhavan.

It was a rare moment for NPCIians that President Shri Pranab
Mukherjee dedicated the RuPay network service to the nation in the presence of a large number of senior executives of banks and government officials. RuPay is going to make a difference not only as a solution option to the banks in India, but also as the main vehicle for Financial Inclusion.

All bank customers are to be cardified and such a massive exercise can best be done through a domestic outfit. Banks would save substantially in switching charges and data would stay within the country.

During the function, a few banks which supported NPCI in starting the RuPay network were felicitated.

With cheers for RuPay.

A P Hota









Banks receiving 'Appreciation Plaque' from the President of India during the RuPay Dedication event held on May 08, 2014 at Rashtrapati Bhavan.



Smt Chanda Kochhar, MD & CEO, ICICI Bank. The bank has been instrumental in laying the foundation of the RuPay card scheme as large acquirer with over 2.6 lakh terminals.



Shri K R Kamath, CMD, Punjab National Bank. The bank has issued over 2.5 million RuPay cards, most of them being debit cards.



Shri S L Bansal, CMD, Oriental Bank of Commerce. The bank has been promoting RuPay initiative quite strongly since beginning. It has issued over 4 lakh RuPay cards.



Shri Jatinder Bir Singh, CMD, Punjab & Sind Bank. One of the first few banks in the country to issue only RuPay cards. The bank has issued over 3 lakh Debit cards.



Shri Sushil Kumar Mishra, Dy MD, State Bank of India. The bank has issued over 3.5 million RuPay cards, certified on all channels and accepting RuPay on more than One lakh terminals.





Shri P Srinivas, Executive Director, Bank of Baroda. The first bank to issue RuPay Global card and has issued over 4 lakh RuPay cards that are certified on all channels.



Shri B P Sharma, Executive Director, Bank of India. The first bank to issue Aadhaar based RuPay cards in the country, and has issued more than 4 lakh RuPay cards.



Shri V S Krishna Kumar, Executive Director, Canara Bank. The bank has successfully issued over 1.5 million RuPay cards and is offering RuPay card service to its Regional Rural banks as well.



Shri R K Bammi, Executive Director, Axis Bank. The bank is the first acquiring bank to enable PoS for RuPay card acceptance at over 2.4 lakh terminals.





Shri S K Sangar, Field General Manager, Union Bank of India, Delhi. The bank has issued over 9 lakh RuPay Debit cards that are certified on all channels, and supporting RuPay card acceptance on e-Commerce.



Shri Bhavesh Zaveri, Country Head-Operations, HDFC Bank. The bank has played a phenomenal role in laying the foundation of RuPay card scheme as a large acquirer with over 2.2 lakh terminals.



Shri Tushar Trivedi, Executive Vice President, Kotak Mahindra Bank. The bank was the first acquirer to enable RuPay for e-Commerce and also issued RuPay prepaid card for milk procurement.



Smt Usha Menon, General Manager-IT, Central Bank of India. The bank has issued more than 5 lakh RuPay cards across the country and has contemplated to issue more of RuPay card through its RRBs.





Shri S K Banerji, MD, Saraswat Co-operative bank. The bank is certified on all channels and is the first cooperative bank to go live on RuPay Global cards.



Shri Ponkshe Vikrant Prabhakar, MD, Cosmos Cooperative Bank. The First Co-operative bank to go live on all three channels for RuPay- ATMs, PoS and e-Commerce.



Shri Bhola Prasad, Chairman, Kashi Gomti Samyut Gramin Bank. The first Regional Rural Bank live with RuPay cards and conducting large number of transactions at PoS. Issued over 1 lakh cards.



Shri M G Bhat, Chairman, Pragathi Krishna Gramin Bank. A progressive Regional Rural Bank that has issued over 2 lakh RuPay cards that are used at ATMs and PoS.





HPSCB launches RuPay Debit card, issues 37,000 cards

The Himachal Pradesh State Co-operative Bank (HPSCB) has launched RuPay Debit card on May 15, 2014 at Shimla. Dr Raghuram Rajan inaugurated the card event in the presence of Shri Vir Bhadra Singh, CM, Himachal Pradesh, Shri Harsh Mahajan, Chairman, HPSCB and senior bankers. HPSCB, which operates in 6 districts with 207 branches, has issued 37,000 RuPay cards and is expected to issue up to 1,00,000 cards by 2015.

NPCI CEO takes on chairmanship of MPFI

Shri A P Hota has been unanimously elected as the new Chairman of MPFI (Mobile Payments Forum of India), taking over from Dr Ashok Jhunjhunwala, during the General Body meeting of MPFI, held in Mumbai on May 30, 2014. MPFI - a joint initiative of IDRBT and RTBI (IIT Chennai) – was formed with a mission to enable mobile payments in India with secure and low cost transaction.



CTS Western Grid migration 100% successful

Cheque Truncation System (CTS) migration in Western Grid has been completed. With the closure of Aurangabad MICR center w.e.f May 17, 2014, all 20 MICR centers have migrated. The Western Grid commenced the journey on April 27, 2013 with Mumbai center going live, and within just over a year, the team has achieved complete migration with having the patronage of 351 banks in Western Grid. NACH processed 5.2 million transactions during May, 2014. 12 new banks joined under NACH Credit totalling up to 200+ banks with processing over 4.2 million transactions.

IMPS expands ecosystem with banks

Kashi Gomti Samyut Gramin Bank (KGSB) becomes the

first regional rural bank to go live on Immediate Payment Service (IMPS), connected through sponsor bank model with Union Bank of India. Incidentally, KGSB was the first RRB to go live on RuPay also. Also, Pandharpur Merchant Cooperative Bank has become the first bank to go live as a sub member.

New Director on Board of NPCI

Shri VS Krishna Kumar joins the Board of NPCI as Director representing Canara Bank. He possesses more than 32 years of banking experience and has headed various branches and departments across the country.



Shri V S Krishna Kumar